MY FEELINGS ABOUT FALL

fall-10

   It’s Fall – the days are getting shorter and colder.  The leaves on most of the trees have already changed color – and by December, most of them will have fallen down to the ground.  In other words, it’s not exactly the best of times – in terms of weather, especially since Winter is over two months away.

   Personally, I don’t care much for Fall – partly because I have to spend the next few weeks raking my home’s front and backyards, a chore that isn’t exactly an option, much like myself shoveling the driveway on snow days during the Winter season.  Oh sure, there’s a few good things about Fall – like Veterans Day and Thanksgiving, the latter holiday leading up to the Christmas holiday season.  Even so, Fall is my second least season – partly because it reminds me of what I’m going to face during the upcoming Winter season: cold temperatures, snow falling, slippery roads and driveways (especially when I’m walking the dog outside on cold Winter mornings – all the more reason to possibly invest in an exercise treadmill for the home), and the somewhat back-breaking job of shoveling the driveway.

   There’s also another reason why I don’t think highly of Fall – namely, the fact that I’m forty-five years old, and my expectations of Fall have fallen somewhat, ever since high school and college, as I’ve had to take on the increasing possibility of helping to maintain the family home, especially after my father’s death.  I’m certainly not the person I was when I was much younger, and didn’t have a worry in the world – something I’ve come to accept.  Perhaps that’s why I’m a bit melancholy when both Fall and Winter arrive – another year’s about to end, and I wonder if I could (and should) have done more to not only improve my lot in life, but also help both my family and friends.  And yet, the hope that our lives will change for the better remains – one that’ll be renewed in the new year, when all of us look forward to the Spring thaw, when life begins anew.  After all, both Fall and Winter don’t last forever.

      John Lavernoich is the author of the novels Code Name: Chameleons and Chameleons To The Rescue, as well as close to three dozen articles and short stories that have been published in print and on the Internet — to learn more about Mr. Lavernoich and his writing achievements, please visit his official website (http://jlavernoich2008.web.officelive.com/default.aspx), as well as his pages on Windows Live Spaces (http://cid-ef88d131988ab38f.profile.live.com), Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/john.lavernoich?ref=name), MySpace (http://www.myspace.com/jlavernoich), and Twitter (http://twitter.com/JLav65).

©2010 John Lavernoich.

About johnlav

I've written five published novels -- including the first two in the CHAMELEONS, INC. book series -- as well as various non-fiction articles and short stories that have been published in both print and on the Internet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

