A NEW FRONTIER (AT LEAST FOR ME)

   For many years, whenever my parents needed to fill up their cars with gas, they usually went to a full-service gas station – probably because the attendants there were effective at doing their job – and that was several decades before the self-serve gas stations started to become a reality.  Yours truly, for most of my lifetime, has never filled up my parents’ cars with gas – mainly because they wouldn’t let me, and with good reason.  That is, until a few weeks ago.

   Over a month ago, the last full-service gas station in my hometown of Winsted, Connecticut closed for good – meaning that my mother has had to rely on self-serve gas stations in order to fill up her car with gas, with yours truly performing said duty.  Today marked the third time that I’ve had to fill up my mother’s car with gas – and after the first two times when I got some assistance, the first time that I did it solo, and with few complications (but thankfully, not the hazardous kind).

   I’ll admit that pumping gas into my mother’s car is something new for me – but it’s also proof that the world has greatly changed in the past few decades, as one era has come to an end, the result of not only changing times, but also the changing habits that have come to define us.  Of course, I’ll miss the full-service gas stations – if only because they belonged to a simpler time that disappeared when both technology and innovation took giant leaps forward making certain habits as obsolete as the horse and buggy.

   I’m sure that I’ll be continuing to pump gas into my mother’s car in the near future – and I’m also damn sure that I’ll be learning a lot more in the coming weeks.  After what I experienced earlier today, I’ve learned an important lesson: next time my mother and I go to a self-serve gas station, I’m going to use my mother’s debit card to pay for the gas.  Hey, at least my mother’s car will have a full tank of gas.

   John Lavernoich is the author of the novels Code Name: Chameleons and Chameleons To The Rescue, as well as close to three dozen articles and short stories that have been published in print and on the Internet – to learn more about Mr. Lavernoich and his writing achievements, please visit his official website (http://jlavernoich2008.web.officelive.com/default.aspx), as well as his pages on Windows Live Spaces (http://cid-ef88d131988ab38f.profile.live.com), Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/john.lavernoich?ref=name), MySpace (http://www.myspace.com/jlavernoich), and Twitter (http://twitter.com/JLav65), as well as his video channel on YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/JLav65?feature=mhsn).

©2010 John Lavernoich.

About johnlav

I've written five published novels -- including the first two in the CHAMELEONS, INC. book series -- as well as various non-fiction articles and short stories that have been published in both print and on the Internet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

