ANOTHER DEATH IN THE FAMILY

   This is my first blog article of 2013 – the subject of which is something I didn’t want to write about, but had to.  Early this morning, my brother Bill’s wife Lorraine died of complications from surgery that she had late last month – news of which I learned from not only Bill, but also my brother Edward earlier today.

   The news of Lorraine’s death is already a serious loss – and not just to my family.  No doubt that there’ll be tributes to her in the coming days, with many of them containing fond memories of what she meant to those who knew and loved her deeply.  All I can say is that Lorraine was a devoted wife to Bill; a loving mother to her three kids; a revered sister-in-law to Joseph, Edward, and I; a supportive in-law to my mother; a dedicated employee and tremendous asset to my home state’s government; and an important part of the community that she lived in, right until her final days.  Those accomplishments – and more – helped define Lorraine’s life and will always be part of the legacy that she leaves behind.  And in the end, that’s what truly matters.

About johnlav

I've written five published novels -- including the first two in the CHAMELEONS, INC. book series -- as well as various non-fiction articles and short stories that have been published in both print and on the Internet.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

